Book cover


Level 1

Visit the author's website

Candy’s story has elements of Alice (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland) and Dorothy (The Wizard of Oz), and is a complex tale of good and evil and parallel worlds. It’s an epic fantasy that contains everything to be expected in a good fantasy world—detail, credibility, suspense. And Barker’s superb illustrations give the series brilliant authenticity.


  • SECOND Locus Poll for the Best Young Adult Novel 2003
  • NOMINEE Bram Stoker Award for Best Work for Young Readers 2002


  • The Damnation Game 1985
  • Weaveworld 1987
  • The Great and Secret Show 1989
  • Imajica 1991
  • Everville 1994
  • Sacrament 1996
  • Galilee 1998
  • Coldheart Canyon 1991
  • Mister B. Gone 2007
  • BAUM, Frank L.: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900; Norton 2000) The adventures of Dorothy from Kansas in the world of OZ.
  • CARROLL, Lewis: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865; Penguin 2001)
  • CARROLL, Lewis: Through the Looking Glass and What Alice Found There (1871; Penguin 2001)
  • Candyman (1992) Horror film based on a Barker story.
  • The Chronicles of Narnia (2005) The most recent film-version. Currently three films.
  • Coraline (2009) Film-version of Gaiman's book.
  • Earthsea (2004) Mediocre version of LeGuin's trilogy.
  • Hellraiser (1987) Clive Barker's film version of his story.
  • The Wizard of Oz (1939) The most famous film-version of Baum's book.
  • ANTHONY, Piers: Incarnations of Immortality (Del Rey etc. 1993-2007)
  • DONALDSON, Stephen: The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever (Holt, Rinehart and Winston 1077-2013)
  • EDDINGS, David: The Belgariad Series (Del Rey 1982-84)
  • HOWARD, Robert E.: The Conan Series (1932; The Complete Chronicles of Conan: Centenary Edition; Gollancz 2006)
  • MOORCOCK, Michael: The Elric of Melnibonč Series (DelRey 1961-1993)